The eldest evergreen oak of Villa Strohl Fern

April 15, 2011

I will soon reach the end of the photo shoot at Villa Strohl Fern. Donatella Trombadori told me the other day about an evergreen oak in the northern part of the garden, near Rilke’s studio, which would be more than 300 years old. It is located close to the part where there used to be a lake and I can imagine Rilke and other artists sitting under it, looking at the water. It is beautiful and huge, with a trunk divided from the bottom in three of four parts leading to long branches, giving the tree a wonderful shape, reminding me a Chinese fan. I also like trees that get human or animal shapes and I was really pleased to discover one looking like a dog near the entrance of the garden.

As trees blossomed in the last weeks, giving the garden unusual colors, I will go back a couple times to take some pictures before I start to print the images for the exhibition which will take place on May 10 in the garden.

One Response to “The eldest evergreen oak of Villa Strohl Fern”

  1. marjorie shaw said

    Hello, I am the daughter of Isabel Osborne (Shaw) who in the 1920s and ’30s played often in the garden of the Villa Strohl Fern as her family’s close family friends the Morgans lived in the villa, as renters, for many years. It occurred to me, reading your lovely postings and enjoying your photos, that Donatella Trombadori might be interested in knowing that others too remember the villa as it was at the time. My mother has had a stroke so lots of her memory is faulty, but she does recall the Villa and its gardens and the magic of the period. All best wishes, Marjorie Shaw

Leave a Reply

